About the Blumhardt Foundation

The Blumhardt Foundation is a partnership-based initiative established to advance the extraordinary richness of New Zealand’s craft/object art

History of the Foundation

The Blumhardt Foundation was established in 2003 to realise the desire of founder Dame Doreen Blumhardt to use her collection and estate to further the collection and the development of New Zealand’s craft/object art during and beyond her lifetime.

Our Partners

Partnerships are critical to achieving our objectives. With our founding partners we have established the following National Programmes:

with The Dowse Art Museum

  • The Blumhardt Gallery, New Zealand’s premier showcase for New Zealand’s craft/object art.
  • The Blumhardt Collection, of nationally significant craft/object art.
  • Provider of the Blumhardt Curatorial Internship.

with Creative New Zealand

  • The Blumhardt Curatorial Internship - to develop curatorial skills in craft/object art.

with The National Library

  • The Blumhardt Collection - of letters, books, papers, photographs and oral archives relating to craft/object art.


In 2019 The Blumhardt Foundation are supporting seven projects and contributing over $28,000 to the craft/object art sector. For updates see our recipients page.

New Trustee

Suzanne Blumhardt, while not a direct relation, first met Doreen Blumhardt in the early 1960s and was in close contact with her for the rest of her life. Suzanne is a collector of ceramics and has in recent years been engaged in the gallery world through membership of the Management Board of the New Zealand Portrait Gallery. Her career in the New Zealand diplomatic service enabled her to develop an appreciation of Pacific crafts as well as becoming familiar with the work of many 20th century British potters. After retiring she served on the committee of the Decorative and Fine Arts Society of Wellington which she chaired for three years.


  • Brian Wood (Deputy Chair)
  • Dennis McKinlay
  • Emma Bugden
  • Helen Kedgley (Secretary)
  • Katherine Smyth
  • Philip Clarke (Chair)
  • Ross Steele (Advisor)
  • Suzanne Blumhardt (Treasurer)


See the Downloads page for a selection of downloadable logos and other files.